Wondrous, mysterious

Decided I needed my final blog post before Christmas to be a bit more perky. So here it is. A Miriam Jones Christmas song. Listen to it here for free or just enjoy the words below. Once the tune’s in your head you won’t be able to stop humming along …

Wondrous, mysterious

I turned on the tv and it
suddenly was Christmas
and I hollered at the advert
that they wouldn’t get my money
and I could not believe they honestly
were trying to take my heart for Christmas

The airwaves jammed with snowmen
and with santa claus and angels
and I do believe in angels
but not the kind that do not scare you
and I prayed some kind of holy fear
would find its way to me this Christmas

‘Cause my heart is dying to prepare
for something wondrous and mysterious
This world is ringing in my ears
and it’s thunderous and delirious

I walked into town
and it was red and gold and sparkling
and while I waited for my watch
I hovered round the shiny shops
oh you who have no money come and buy
fill your hearts full up this Christmas

Steering down the sidewalk
I could hear a conversation
‘bout a boy who had a head
they’d like to push under a faucet
and I wondered are we saving up
all our loving hearts for Christmas

Part way through December
I pulled out the wooden figures
from their boxes and I placed them
and I looked into their faces
wondering what they all were looking at…

My heart is dying to prepare
for something wondrous and mysterious
This world is ringing in my ears
and it’s thunderous and delirious

from Fire​-​lives, released 08 December 2010

Leave a Reply

