Walking humbly in satin plimsolls

My post yesterday morning:

On the one hand, Tearfund is asking me to help Agnes leave despair behind her. On the other, Boden is reminding me that they give 365 days of peace of mind. I open the letter and flick through the catalogue.

Agnes’ soundbite in the letter is: ‘Last year I had malaria four times. The last time I thought I would die.’ The soundbite from Boden model, Simone is: ‘What do I want to return as in my next life? A bird.’

I can’t help but feel that Agnes’ despair wouldn’t be fixed by the purchase of a ‘Calypso Vest’ which promises to ‘make you feel like you’re on holiday long before the duty free cosmetic counter beckons.’ It seems that the Omulala Women’s Group – where encouragement and hope are flourishing – is creating a forum for something a bit more deeply transformative than that.

But as I flick through pictures of ‘endlessly versatile soft cotton cardigans in life-affirming colours’, nor can I help but wonder if model Adoara, who celebrates the end of winter by buying ten swimsuits for the summer, isn’t missing out on something.

A gift today of £60 can pay for three women to attend a five-day training workshop, equipping them with business skills that will stand them in good stead throughout their lives.

£60 would also pay for a Silver Riviera Notch Neck Tunic that will rush to my aid when I have a sudden attack of the wardrobe wobbles.

A donation today can empower women like Agnes with the tools, knowledge and confidence they need to leave poverty behind them – one step at a time.

Decisions, decisions, says Boden.

Leave a Reply

